History of the Contemporary World / Zeitgeschichte (90 ECTS Credits)

Research-Oriented and Interdisciplinary

The specialized Master's program History of the Contemporary World (HCW/ZG) offers students the opportunity to deal with the historicity of conflicts and social upheavals of the present. It enables students to develop historical analyses of the modern world and the present and to learn about the challenges of writing of history in a digitized, globalized world.

The courses offered are characterized by seminars focused on research, cooperations with archives and museums, and the teaching of digital methods in historical studies. The Master's program is research-oriented and interdisciplinary. It combines exclusive modules reserved for the students of the program with general modules offered to students of the modern period in the History Department.

The main language of the specialized Master’s program is German. It is expected that seminars and exercises will also be offered in English. Knowledge of Latin is not required. Computer skills are welcome, but not a prerequisite.

Start of Studies and Application

Course Curriculum

A. Exclusive Courses

Seminar: Introduction to Zeitgeschichte

Compulsory module; begin in fall semester; two-semester; 12 ECTS Credits

The reading-based seminar will introduce important works of reference, theoretical positions, and methodical tools central to the study of contemporary history / Zeitgeschichte. The seminar’s objectives are for students to analyse and understand the historicity of contemporary social change and conflict, and to enable students to participate in controversies and debates about the present. The main focus of the seminar will be to discuss challenging texts, and thereby to practice the skills of giving short, sharp oral interventions as well as writing concise essays. Students are expected to write an independent analysis of debates concerning Zeitgeschichte as part of their seminar paper. The seminar paper should be written during the second (spring) semester, when seminar classes have already been completed.

Exercise: Archives, Technologies, Media

Core elective module; begin in fall semester; two-semester; 9 ECTS Credits

This practice-based module explores the methods and materiality of research into Zeitgeschichte in cooperation with archives, museums, and other memory institutions. The module is research-oriented and aims to analyse new research perspectives based on the use of different archives. It also considers questions such as how archival theory and praxis may be considered against the backdrop of postcolonial perspectives and media theory approaches. Students will receive support in establishing independent research interests that engage institutions of memory and oral traditions.

Exercise: History in a digitized world

Core elective module; begin in spring semester; two-semester; 9 ECTS Credits

The practice-based module gives a methodological and theoretical introduction to the challenges of historiography in a digitalized world. The module considers questions such as how digital practices alter the production and archiving of knowledge, and what geopolitical and epistemic implications arise from such practices. In combination with tutorials, the module’s objective is to introduce students to basic skills in programming, to a general knowledge of digital infrastructures (concerning text, image, sound, statistics), and eventually to provide a discursive space for students test methods of research into the history of digitalization. The module is research-led and encourages students to experiment both with their acquired skills in their writing praxis and with digital forms of presenting their findings.

B. Elective Courses

Beside exclusive courses, students can choose from the two following non-exclusive core elective courses of the general MA-programme “History”: “Perspectives in Global History” and “Modern Cultural and Media History”. Additional modules offered by the Department of History—such as colloquia, seminars, and lectures with a focus on modern history and East European history—will allow students to position themselves within different fields of research.

C. Master’s Thesis and Exam

To receive a Master of Arts degree, students are required to attend two research colloquia organized by the MA thesis supervisor, write a Master’s thesis, and pass an oral exam.

Aufbau Zeitgeschichte

Professional Prospects

The specialized Master’s Degree qualifies students for academic research and teaching in the area of History of the Contemporary World. Furthermore, this program opens a wide range of activity in archives, memory institutions, media and cultural directions, in international organizations, NGOs, public administration, as well as private companies which require an understanding of contemporary social upheavals and conflicts.

History of the Contemporary World / Zeitgeschichte (90 ECTS Credits)

Forschungsnah und interdisziplinär

Das spezialisierte Masterprogramm History of the Contemporary World / Zeitgeschichte (HCW/ZG) bietet den Studierenden die Möglichkeit, sich mit der Historizität von Konflikten und gesellschaftlichen Umbrüchen der Gegenwart auseinanderzusetzen. Es befähigt die Studierenden, historische Analysen zur modernen Welt bzw. zur Gegenwart zu erarbeiten und die Herausforderungen kennenzulernen, die sich der Geschichtsschreibung in einer digitalisierten, globalisierten Welt stellen.

Das Lehrangebot zeichnet sich durch forschungsnahe Seminare, Kooperationen mit Archiven und Museen sowie die Vermittlung von Kenntnissen digitaler Methoden in der Geschichtswissenschaft aus. Der Masterstudiengang ist forschungsnah und interdisziplinär angelegt. Er kombiniert exklusive, für die Studierenden des Programms reservierte Module mit solchen aus dem allgemeinen Angebot des Zeitbereichs Neuzeit des Historischen Seminars.

Die Hauptsprache im spezialisierten Masterprogramm ist Deutsch. Voraussichtlich werden auch Seminare und Übungen in Englisch angeboten. Lateinkenntnisse werden nicht verlangt. Informatikkenntnisse sind willkommen, aber keine Voraussetzung.

Studienbeginn und Bewerbung

Studienangebot

A. Exklusive Module

Seminar: Einführung in die Zeitgeschichte

Pflichtmodul; Beginn im Herbstsemester; zweisemestrig; 12 ECTS Credits

Das Lektüreseminar erschliesst auf Basis von ausgewählten Texten zentrale Referenzwerke, theoretische Positionen und methodische Werkzeuge der Zeitgeschichte. Es setzt sich zum Ziel, die Historizität von gesellschaftlichen Umbrüchen und Konflikten der Gegenwart verstehen zu lernen und die Studierenden zu befähigen, sich an Kontroversen und Debatten über die Gegenwart zu beteiligen. Im Zentrum des Seminars steht die ausführliche Diskussion anspruchsvoller Texte. Dabei soll insbesondere auch die Fähigkeit geschult werden, kürzere, pointierte mündliche Interventionen und prägnante Kurzessays zu verfassen und im Rahmen einer schriftlichen Seminararbeit auf Basis von Literatur eine eigenständige Auseinandersetzung mit Fragen der Zeitgeschichte zu leisten. Die Seminararbeit wird im Laufe des zweiten Semesters geschrieben, in dem keine Sitzungen mehr stattfinden.

Übung: Archive, Technologien, Medien

Wahlpflichtmodul; Beginn im Herbstsemester; zweisemestrig; 9 ECTS Credits

Die Übung erkundet in Kooperation mit Archiven, Museen und anderen Gedächtnisinstitutionen Methoden und Materialien zur Erforschung der Zeitgeschichte. Sie ist forschungsnah konzipiert und setzt sich zum Ziel, auf der Basis von unterschiedlichen Archiven neue Untersuchungsgegenstände zu erarbeiten. Dabei geht es übergeordnet auch um die Frage, wie gegenwärtig vor dem Hintergrund postkolonialer und medientheoretischer Perspektiven Theorie und Praxis von Archiven reflektiert werden. Zudem werden die Studierenden dabei unterstützt, in Auseinandersetzung mit Gedächtnisinstitutionen und historisch gewachsenen Praktiken eigenständige Forschungsinteressen zu entwickeln.

Übung: Geschichte in der digitalisierten Welt

Wahlpflichtmodul; Beginn im Frühjahrssemester; zweisemestrig; 9 ECTS Credits

Die Übung bietet eine methodische und theoretische Einführung in die Herausforderungen der Geschichtsschreibung in der digitalisierten Welt. Dabei geht es um die Frage, wie digitale Operationen die Herstellung und Archivierung von Wissen verändern und welche geopolitischen und epistemischen Implikationen mit diesen Umbrüchen verbunden sein könnten. Das Modul setzt sich zum Ziel, mittels Tutorien Grundkenntnisse der Programmierung zu vermitteln, grundlegendes Wissen über digitale Infrastrukturen (in Bezug auf Text, Bild, Ton, Statistiken) zu erwerben sowie Methoden zur Erforschung der Geschichte der Digitalisierung zu erproben. Die Übung ist forschungsnah angelegt und ermuntert die Studierenden, im Rahmen ihrer Schreibpraxis und digitaler Präsentationsformen mit den erworbenen Kenntnissen zu experimentieren.

B. Wahlmodule

Neben den exklusiven Modulen können die Studierenden auch die folgenden zwei nicht-exklusiven Wahlpflichtmodule aus dem MA-Studienprogramm Geschichte belegen: „Perspektiven der Globalgeschichte“ und „Kultur- und Mediengeschichte der Neuzeit“. Daneben bieten weitere curriculare Module in Form von Kolloquien und Vorlesungen aus dem Angebot des Historischen Seminars im Zeitbereich Neuzeit inkl. Osteuropa die Möglichkeit, sich thematisch zu positionieren. Für zusätzliche Informationen siehe Mustercurriculum.

C. Abschluss

Der Masterabschluss erfolgt durch das Verfassen der Masterarbeit, einen begleitenden Besuch von zwei Master-Kolloquien bei der Betreuerin/dem Betreuer der Masterarbeit sowie durch eine mündliche Prüfung.

Berufsperspektiven

Der spezialisierte Master qualifiziert für die akademische Forschung und Lehre im Bereich der History of the Contemporary World / Zeitgeschichte und der Digital History. Darüber hinaus eröffnet das Studienprogramm ein breites Tätigkeitsfeld in Archiven, Gedächtnisinstitutionen, Medien- und Kultureinrichtungen, in internationalen Organisationen, NGOs, der öffentlichen Verwaltung sowie in Privatunternehmen, die ein Verständnis von gesellschaftlichen Umbrüchen und Konflikten der Gegenwart voraussetzen.